Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m currently an MBA student in the city of brotherly love, and I’ve got to say:

“I’ve got the world on a string, sitting on a rainbow

What a world, what a life, I’m in love!” (credit: Frank Sinatra)

I can’t get it out of my head. I just can’t stop thinking about it. I can barely eat or sleep.

The tide is high, but I’m holding on. It’s a battlefield out there. (Blondie and Pat Benatar, respectively)

I think obsessively about the future when, reunited with the object of my deep longing, everything is gonna be peachy keen. Every day there’s a certain amount of toil, but usually a fair amount of socializing with several “receptions” (happy hour) in classy Center City bars where I drink on borrowed funds.

I spend a lot of time solving practical problems, but a lot of my program focuses on “soft stuff” setting your mission and and getting values right. There’s a lot of long-term strategic thinking going on, too.

More than anything, love and leadership training are pretty much the same thing. My leadership course is all about staying true to your ideals, being the servant of those you hope will choose to follow you, and knowing how to work as a team.

Grand dreams, big plans, and an every day grind just focused on staying afloat. Pretty sure the next great love poem will be written by an MBA candidate, and that business school will be the ultimate metaphor.

