Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I just got done reading this little gem, which was posted on LinkedIn, and sums up fairly well many people’s experiences. It doesn’t really speak for those priced out of going to college or people who are in vocational fields, or serving our country, but it does speak in a lot of ways to me and many other extremely blessed, somewhat privelged people who’ve had the benefit of a great four year education and find that the world does not lay down at our feet the way it did for our parents and grandparents.

yeah, the economy has changed, and we don’t have the nearly instantaneous prosperity (ask someone from a developing country what they think of the US though, and you’re likely to see how spoiled you are) bestowed on previous generations, or so we perceive as the struggle to find jobs seems harder and harder. Yeah, we need more education (and more debt) to keep up and get comfortable corporate or just slightly white collar jobs, and that sucks. It’s not our fault. It’s pretty easy to point fingers and blame the baby boomers, the higher education establishment, and those greedy Wall Street bankers.

But none of that really matters, does it? Is that what life’s about, anyway?

Yeah, let’s create a better world for tomorrow and learn from our mistakes, but we have to live for TODAY!

No matter what my loan situation or bank balance is, I’ve got some things going for me regardless of the economy:

1. Love- family, friends, significant other, community, country, humanity, God

And let’s not forget, I’m writing this blog, which you are reading. I have an audience for my thoughts and feelings and I didn’t need a publisher or printing press to be a writer. Just because no one’s paying me doesn’t make me any less credible in what I do.

I have pretty much all the knowledge of the world at my fingerpoints. Sure, the lost library of Alexandria may not be amongst what’s on the interwebs (though it probably is somewhere, but wow, I can take courses at MIT for free! And Harvard and Stanford! And I can just ask Google when I need to know how to cook something, fix something, or pretty much anything.

Air travel is as cheap as it’s ever been, and with the economy the way it is, the opportunity cost (in dollars) of living in France for a year is at bargain basement price-in case you wanted to think of it that way, and not simply as an experience of LIFE worth LIVING.

I have enough food to eat, I’m in pretty good health, I have clean water, plumbing, heat in winter. I feel safe for the most part, and the corporate ladder is mine to climb or not.  There’s a lot of people in this world- especially women my age- who don’t have even have of those things.

I can’t spend my whole life so wrapped up in the fact that things are not as I expected that I miss how awesome things really are!

Maybe this is the kind of attitude that helped launch Microsoft during a recession, or led Steve Jobs to be a tech pioneer after spending some quiet time in India.

Or maybe I’ll just decide there are other things equally or more important to me, and have them instead. Maybe life will happen to me, and I’ll have “less” than I expected, but more than I need, and get what I really wanted most.

I’m still alive, after all!

Isn’t that the greatest gift ever?

And like every other human before me, I am swept up in history and circumstances beyond my control. I don’t have complete control over the results of my actions, and things just don’t go as expected. The fundamental human dillemmas haven’t changed all that much, and neither have the joys.

So yes, I accept this life, I affirm it, I love it, and I will live it to glorify the source of all life which is Life itself.

Namaste,

MJ

 

 

 

