Tags

, , , ,

may have heard the saying before, but talking about life with one of my best friends today, it took on a whole new meaning.

He said I need to accept the periods in my life- particularly with my relationships.

He said love is like emotional tennis, but obsession is like one person passing one ball and the other hanging on to it.

I’ve been the one hanging on to it.

There’s no need to be delusional about what’s gone because I have no idea how things might come to me in the future.

There’s no need to hang on to illusions and keep holding on to fantasies that don’t come true- that’s just stopping me from achieving my real dreams.

So yes, I might just want to cuddle.

But I can’t go back to the past.

I can smile in remembrance, but I can’t try to make it happen again.

If it was meant to be, I’d already be there now.

Life gets in the way- well that is life, and it happens for a reason.

My choices are taking me away from people I have loved.

I don’t have the same friends I did before, and my perspective has shifted immeasurably.

And I’m going to go even farther, where my dreams call me, my soul calls me, in a direction that seems so far from home, and that might change what home means to me.

THe love from the people who are really going to always be forever friends and family will always be there.

And there are people that pass in and out of our lives, but that doesn’t make their part of the journey less special.

And to ignore those feelings that told me, even when I was some of those people, that it wasn’t going to be forever, that we weren’t really in sync, is a disservice to all involve.

There was nothing wrong with the fact that it ended. The choices that I made that caused to it end weren’t wrong. If it was meant to be, it would have been.

And the only way to be free is to let go.

Those circumstances were there for a reason. It was a period- the fact that it felt out of my control doesn’t turn it into a question mark.

Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.

