Tags

, , , ,

I spend a lot of time thinking about how far I have to go and how flawed I am. It is kind of vain, but it’s totally in vain to put so much effort into changes and not recognize the positives that I have had.

1. Joining Crossfit
This is addictive and awesome, I learn so much and I am getting fitter. Every time I go I realize how far I still have to go, but also how far I am coming and that YES, I CAN AND WILL GET THERE!

2. Quitting diet soda (and soda in general)
I have quit this addiction. I feel a lot better. I have a lot less cravings for crappy foods. This is a change that will make me healthier and happier (some studies even link diet soda to depression and cancer) for the rest of my life. It came directly out of the changed relationship to my body Crossfit started. I realized I couldn’t be putting that kind of junk into me and expecting myself to be healthy and fit. I chose not to suffer. And this is one of the simplest, most effective, and profound changes I have ever made.

3. Drastically decreasing my consumption of flour and sugar, as well as grains
For the most part, I no longer eat foods with processed carbs. This has improved my mood, made it so much easier to make healthy choices, and made me feel good about myself. My mind feels sharper and I don’t suffer from as many cravings. When I do get cravings, I recognize them as being emotion and habit driven, wanting to cling to some sadder version of myself who is now, thankfully gone. I will continue to experiment with cutting out processed carbs and I know this is a way of eating I can keep up.
The amazing thing is how little I miss the foods, and that when I do give myself a chance to eat them, I am not so wowed by them. I don’t feel like I have to eat somethign in order to make myself happy and I recognize when I do eat it that this food is just doing me harm and not making me happy at all.
4. Facing the scale, tape measure, etc
The only way out is through, and I have learned to face the truth. This has empowered me to make the changes I want in my life and face my problems. As much as I feel unhappy about having the problems, I no longer feel the sense of shame or guilt or denial, and I”m able to do something about i.
5. Not having to say “I’m sorry” for not being perfect at this minute
At Crossfit, I have a lot of trouble with many of the exercises. Sometimes I seem to get the hang of it one minute, only to regress to doing things incorrectly the next. The trainer told me not to apologize for what I couldn’t do or for making mistakes. This has had a big impact on me, and I feel free to try, fail, and try again for the future. I can finally move past wanting to do everything perfectly the first time or feeling shitty about myself. I can improve, move forward, and let myself make mistakes on my way to greatness.
6. Finally realizing how important health is
I definitely don’t want to go on another diet I can’t keep up with to hit a certain size or number on the scale, but I do want to be healthy and fit for the rest of my life, as much as I can. But now, when I eat, I think about my health and not just my size. And that has made ALL the difference. I can make healthy changes without getting obsessed about the impact it is having on my size. It is having a positive impact, and it would be healthier for me at this point to be smaller, but the goal is a lot more than just looking good in bikini. It is being able to live my life to the fullest and give myself the best chance in the world for leading a healthy, happy, prosperous life.
7. Making my health a priority
I used to think I couldn’t make the time and energy for health when I was accomplishing other things. It turns out, I can. And being helathy makes everything else better, and knowing that I can take care of myself while accomplishing the things I want is priceless.

