Tags

I want someone to marvel at the world with, and to wonder at. To see the beauty and mystery of another human soul- yours. To share a precious, finite, breathless existence, united by our eternal souls. You take my breath away. I have never felt closer to anyone than I have to you. When you are hundreds of miles away, you are as close as the beat of my heart. When I go about my day, chattering to you in my mind, it feels like you are always with me.

I would show you my love poetry, and I will write you reams of it. I’ll never be more afraid of anything than showing you, because you are the one person in the world who will really understand. I am always naked when I’m with you. You see me- not always perfectly, but clearly, deeply, truly.

I know there will be hard times. I know you are far from perfect, and I know that you are so close, you will wound me with even a pin prick of annoyance, doubt, or anger. I know that my very sensitivity to you will cause me pain- indeed, it already has.

I know you have your own path, and you can’t follow me everywhere. I know you have your own demons to fight, and I want to love them out of you.

I know that loving you means being fully, completely me. I know that to be with you is as close to heaven as one can come on earth. I know that with you there is nowhere to hide, no rationalization to make, nothing that can be said that will stop my heart from vibrating with love for you.

I love you.

I love you, and if you ask me, if you just speak the word, I will give up my free, easy, solitary wandering shoes and trade them for a set of angel wings we can share. If you asked me, I would never go anywhere without you. If you asked me, I would love you more every day. If you asked me, I would gladly grow old and die with you.

And because of you, I’ll have to give up all my games and tricks, all my walls, all my secrets. Because of you, there will be no more distance, only mystery. Because of you, I can’t keep on living a double life. Because of you, I have to be only the real me, and I have to love you.

Why do I love you? Once, long ago I had a feeling about you, and I followed it through. But that’s not why I love you. I love you because I love you, because there is no one else, because you are my soulmate. I love you because you are you. I love you because there are stars in the sky and the grass grows green underneath the blossoming trees and we are all rooted underneath the firmament of the sky. I love you because God gave me your rib to give me life, I love you because we fell together and will rise together, I love you because you are my heaven, God is in your eyes.

